### **VENTURA REGIONAL SANITATION DISTRICT**

4105 WEST GONZALES ROAD, OXNARD, CA 93036-2748



February 15, 2024

Board of Directors Ventura Regional Sanitation District Ventura, California

# NOMINATION & ELECTION OF CALENDAR YEAR 2024 BOARD OF DIRECTORS OFFICERS PER VRSD BYLAWS ART. VI, SEC.3

#### **RECOMMENDATION**

- Conduct nominations and election for the Chairperson of the Ventura Regional Sanitation District Board of Directors to the Chairperson for Calendar Year 2024;
   and
- B. Conduct nominations and election for the Vice-Chairperson of the Ventura Regional Sanitation District Board of Directors for Calendar Year 2024.

#### **FISCAL IMPACT**

None.

#### **BACKGROUND/ANALYSIS**

Article VI, Section 3, of the District Bylaws, amended by the Board October 3, 2019, provides that "at the first regular meeting of the Board of Directors in January of each year, the Board shall elect the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson from among its members." The Regular meeting of the Board of Directors for January 4, 2024 was cancelled, and all of the appointments to the VRSD Board for calendar year 2024 had not yet been finalized by the Regular meeting of the Board of Directors on January 18, 2024. Therefore, it is appropriate for the current Board Chairperson to direct the Clerk of the Board to conduct an election for Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson at the February 15, 2024 meeting.

This letter and the associated attachment have been reviewed by Legal Counsel as to form.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me by phone at (805) 568-4638 or via email at clerk@vrsd.com

Board of Directors February 15, 2024 Page 2

MAYRA RODRIGUEZ, CLERK OF THE BOARD

APPROVED FOR AGENDA:

Chris Theisen, General Manager

Attachments: 1. VRSD Board Chairpersons Since 1970

## **VRSD Board Chairpersons since 1970**

YEAR	CHAIRPERSON	Representing:
2023	Kildee	Camarillo
2022	Hernandez	Port Hueneme
2021	Friedman	Ventura
2020	Perello	Oxnard
2019	Kildee	Camarillo
2018	Monahan	
		Ventura
2017	Weirick	Ojai
2016	Perello	Oxnard
2015	Neal	Fillmore
2014	Price	Thousand Oaks
2013 2012	Kildee Sharkey	Camarillo Port Hueneme
2012	Monahan	Ventura
2010	Craven	Camarillo
2009	Gillette	Thousand Oaks
2008	Sharkey	Port Hueneme
2007	Monahan	Ventura
2006	Acosta	Special Districts
2005	Cook	Santa Paula
2004	Brennan	Ventura
2003	Gillette	Thousand Oaks
2002	Bury	Ojai
2001	Craven	Camarillo
2000	Zaragoza	Oxnard
1999	Johnson	Santa Paula
1998	Sharkey	Port Hueneme
1997	Lazar	Thousand Oaks
1996	Carpenter	Port Hueneme
1995	Herrera	Oxnard
1994	Acosta	Special Districts
1993	Gunderson	Fillmore
1992	Craven	Camarillo
1991	Fiore	Thousand Oaks
1990	Carpenter	Port Hueneme
1989	Maland	Santa Paula
1988	Davidson/Shelley	Spec.Dist/Ojai
1987	Maland	Santa Paula
1986	Davidson	Special Districts
1985	Takasugi	Oxnard
1984 1983	Flynn	Co. WW 1, 16, 17 Ventura
	Henson	
1982	Kato	Oxnard
1981	Jones	Triunfo San
1980	Eaton	Vta Co Board of Sup
1979	Miller	Oxnard
1978	Miller	Oxnard
1977	Miller	Oxnard
1976	Miller	Oxnard
1975	Miller	Oxnard
1974	Maland	Santa Paula
1973 1972	Maland Poussoy/Maland	Santa Paula Oxnard/Santa Paula
1972	Roussey/Maland Albinger	Ventura
1970	Albinger	Ventura
1010	r upinger	v Gritura

This page is intentionally blank